From the Principal's Desk 7th March 2017

The Principal's Chair


To all members of the Arahunga Special School and Outreach Service community,

We are pleased to be able to announce that the Arahunga Secondary and Transition Learning Hub at Whanganui City College will be operational from the beginning of Term 2, 2017.

This exciting partnership has been achieved through the collaborative efforts of staff and Board members from both Arahunga and Whanganui City College (WCC), and has been approved by the Ministry of Education (MoE).

The Hub will include:

  • Secondary level Arahunga Satellite Services classes which will provide specialist teaching for ORS (Ongoing Resourcing Scheme) verified students on Arahunga’s roll.
  • Shared space for the use of any students with learning needs and their teachers from either Arahunga or WCC.
  • Arahunga Outreach Services liaison to support the teaching of students requiring learning support at WCC when required.
  • An Arahunga Transition to Work day base classroom close to Whanganui’s business center.

Please note:

  • The Arahunga Hub does not replace WCC’s learning center, rather staff from both schools will work together to provide learning opportunities for each school’s students in a variety of inclusive and collaborative learning environments.
  • The Arahunga Hub at WCC does not impact on the Arahunga Learning Centre at Cullinane College, which will continue doing the essential and impressive work it does for our students located there. The Arahunga Hub at WCC is a necessary addition to our Senior School infrastructure to cope with growing numbers of students.

Arahunga Teaching Staff tasked with running the Arahunga Hub at WCC are as follows:

  • Yvonne Bieleski – Hub Leader
  • Hamilton Ngapo – Secondary Class Specialist Teacher
  • Kay Bannister-Rye – Transition Class Specialist Teacher

The teacher’s aides planned to be supporting the teachers in the Hub are:

  • George Urry
  • Janine Richardson
  • Jenna-Marie Hoyle
  • Lorraine Barker
  • Mitchell Reardon
  • Howard Roy

(Please note that unforeseen circumstances sometimes mean we need to alter individual staff members.)

For more information about the Hub please contact the Hub Leader - Yvonne Bieleski either by e-mailing or phoning 027 544 1205.

The Hub falls under the oversight of the Head of Senior School – Simon Beitchef who can be contacted by e-mailing or phoning 027 348 0012.

While the Hub has both Satellite and Outreach Services function for the sake of simplicity it has been placed within the Satellite management stream. The Line Manager of Satellite Services is Kay Bannister-Rye who can be contacted by e-mailing or phoning 027 348 7159.

This is an amazing opportunity to partner with a local secondary school who have strong values, a caring, and dedicated staff team, and who are in turn excited to be working together with our own community. Together we will be able to better prepare our students for the futures ahead of them.

Thank you for your support and patience through the long preparation time, our students will benefit from the work done with perseverance today for the betterment of their tomorrow.


Daniel J. Price


Stewart Mead

Board of Trustees Chairperson